As of July 1 2019, the content of the Slovenian Government website has moved to

Skip to main content »

About Slovenia

Quick and easy access to information in English about Slovenia is available at the portal 




Slovenia in Brief

Map of Slovenia

The Republic of Slovenia lies at the heart of Europe where the Alps and the Mediterranean meet the Pannonian plains and the mysterious karst. To the north is Austria, to the east Hungary, to the south Croatia, and to the west Italy. Two million people live here on just over twenty thousand square kilometers.


Slovenia became an independent state in 1991. It has since established an international position and reputation as a democratic, stable and successful Central European country. Today it is an important international player – a place where statesmen would meet, a member of international organisations, and a country enjoying friendly ties with other countries around the world.

Slovenia became a member of the EU on May 1, 2004.

Republic of Slovenia

State / Democratic parliamentary republic since 25 June 1991

Member of the European Union since 1 May 2004

Capital / Ljubljana, 278.789 inhabitants (2015)

National flag / Horizontal stripes in white, blue and red with Slovenian coat of arms on its left upper side

Coat of arms / Three six-pointed yellow stars are symbols of the Counts of Celje with Triglav as a symbol of Slovenehood and underlying two wavy lines symbolizing Slovenian rivers and the sea

Anthem / The seventh stanza of Zdravljica, a poem by France Prešeren, set to music by Stanko Premrl

State holidays / June 25 - Statehood Day, December 26 - Independence and Unity Day

Official Language / Slovenian, in some nationally mixed border areas also Italian and Hungarian

Currency / EUR 1= 100 cents

Phone dial code / +386


Land surface / 20,271 km²

Length of borders  by land/ 1,322 km: with Austria 318 km, with Italy 232 km, with Hungary 100 km, with Croatia 672 km

Length of coastline / 47 km

Neighbouring states / Austria, Italy, Hungary, Croatia

Largest towns / Ljubljana, Maribor, Kranj,  Celje

Highest mountain / Triglav 2,864 m

Longest river / Sava 221 km

Landscape / The territory of Slovenia is geographically divided into four basic types of  landscape - Alpine in the north, Mediterranean in the south-west, Dinaric in the south and Pannonian in the east.

Climate / There are three different types of climate in Slovenia: continental in the central part, Alpine in the north-west and sub-Mediterranean along the coast and its hinterland.


Inhabitants / 2.062.455 (September 2014)

Population density / 101.2 inhabitants per square kilometre (1 July 2011)

Nationalities (2002 census): Slovenian 83%; Italian 0,1%; Hungarian 0,3%; Croat 1,8%; Serbian 2,0%; Muslim (including Bosniacs) 1,6%; others 2,2%; unknown: 8,9%

Births / On average 1,58 children per woman (2012)

Life expectancy / 76.96 for men and 82.89 for women (2012)

Urbanization / Approximately one third of the population live in towns with more than 10,000 inhabitants, the rest live in nearly six thousand smaller towns and villages.

Religions / According to the 2002 census the most of population (58 %) are Catholics. Together there are 43 religious communities registered in Slovenia. Among the oldest is the Evangelical Church, most widely spread in the northeastern part of Slovenia.

Political system

Legislation / Under the Constitution, Slovenia is a democratic republic and a social state governed by law. The state’s authority is based on the principle of the separation of  egislative, executive and judicial powers, with a parliamentary system of government. The highest legislative authority is the National Assembly (90 deputies), which has the right to enact laws. Elections to the National Assembly are held every four years.

Suffrage / According to the Constitution, the right to vote is universal and equal. Every citizen who has attained the age of eighteen years has the right to vote and stand for office.

President / Borut Pahor - second mandate since November 2017

Prime Minister / Marjan Šarec since 13 September 2018

Political Parties represented in the National Assembly, elected on 3 June 2018 / Slovenian Democratic Party (SDS), Marjan Šarec List (LMŠ), Social Democrats (SD), Party of Modern Centre (SMC), Left, New Slovenia - Christian Democrats (NSi), Alenka Bratušek Party (SAB), Democratic Party of Pensioners of Slovenia (DeSUS), National Party (SNS) and one representative each of the Hungarian and Italian national communities.



National Anthem


God’s blessing on all nations,

Who long and work for that bright day,

When o’er earth’s habitations

No war, no strife shall hold its sway;

Who long to see

That all men free

No more shall foes, but neighbours be.



Text of the Slovenian national anthem (7th stanza of Zdravljica - A Toast by France Prešeren)


More about in the section "National Insignia".