As of July 1 2019, the content of the Slovenian Government website has moved to

Skip to main content »

Political System

The Constitution

The National Assembly

  • The Republic of Slovenia is a parliamentary representative democratic republic since 25 June 1991
  • The present Constitution of the Republic of Slovenia was adopted on 23 December 1991, following the results of the plebiscite on the sovereignty and independence of Slovenia on 23 December 1990, when Slovenes overwhelmingly voted for independence.
  • Slovenia became an EU member on 1 May 2004
  • Slovenia adopted the euro on 1 January 2007


Head of state


The President of the Republic (elected for a maximum of two, five-year terms by direct elections)

The current President is Borut Pahor (elected in December 2012 and November 2017)

Legislative authority


The National Assembly (90 deputies).

The President of the National Assembly is Dejan Židan. 


Political Parties represented in the National Assembly, elected on 3 June 2018:

Slovenian Democratic Party (SDS), Marjan Šarec List (LMŠ), Social Democrats (SD), Party of Modern Centre (SMC), Left, New Slovenia - Christian Democrats (NSi), Alenka Bratušek Party (SAB), Democratic Party of Pensioners of Slovenia (DeSUS), National Party (SNS) and one representative each of the Hungarian and Italian national communities.


The National Council performs an advisory role. Members are elected for a five-year term (40 members).

The President of the National Council is Alojz Kovšca.

Executive authority


The Government consists of the Prime Minister and other Ministers. The government and the ministers are independent within the framework of their jurisdiction, and responsible to the National Assembly.


The government is headed by Prime Minister Marjan Šarec.


The current government coalition consists of the Marjan Šarec List (LMŠ), Social Democrats (SD), Party of Modern Centre (SMC), Alenka Bratušek Party (SAB) and Democratic Party of Pensioners of Slovenia (DeSUS).



Judicial power in Slovenia is implemented by courts with general responsibilities and specialised courts which deal with matters relating to specific legal areas.


State Prosecutor

There are 11 regional public prosecution offices, 4 higher public prosecution offices and the Office of the State Prosecutor General of the Republic of Slovenia.


Ombudsman for Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms

The first Slovenian Ombudsman was elected in September 1994. The Ombudsman reports to the National Assembly on his work.


Constitutional Court

The Constitutional Court decides on the conformity of laws with the Constitution. The Constitutional Court is composed of nine judges - legal experts. They are elected for a term of nine years.



Capital: Ljubljana (278.789 (2015))

Other major cities: Maribor, Celje, Kranj, Velenje, Ptuj, Koper, Novo mesto, Jesenice, Trbovlje, Nova Gorica, Murska Sobota



212 (11 of them have urban municipality status: Celje, Koper, Kranj, Ljubljana, Maribor, Murska Sobota, Nova Gorica, Novo mesto, Ptuj, Slovenj Gradec, Velenje)

25 years of Independence

Slovenia - 20 Years of Independence

Quick info

  • President of the Republic: Borut Pahor
  • Prime Minister: Marjan Šarec
  • Government: Prime Minister, 16 Ministers
  • National Assembly: 90 deputies (88 elected representatives of the parliamentary parties and one representative each from the Italian and Hungarian national communities).
  • National Council: 40 elected representatives of employers, employees, farmers, tradesmen and the self-employed, as well as from the non-economic sector and local interest groups.
  • Conventional long/short form: Republic of Slovenia, Slovenia
  • Local long/short form: Republika Slovenija, Slovenija

Related Links

Slovenian State Institutions 

Main portal giving access to all principal state institutions and their online information, services and resources.


The Constitution of the Republic of Slovenia 

In June 1991 Slovenia became an independent, internationally recognized state. It introduced its own currency, established control of its borders and passed a new Constitution on 23 December 1991.


State Symbols 

All about Slovenian national insignia: the coat-of-arms, the flag and the anthem, including mp3, Real Player and the score.


Former Governments - review