Skip to main content »

Did you know?

Border documentation

Border documentation

Border documentation and over 100 treaties

On 30 August 2017, Slovenia took possession of the remaining 60 treaties relating exclusively to the territory of the Republic of Slovenia which had been deposited with the former SFRY. 

The handover took place today at the Archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Serbia. In total, Slovenia has thus obtained over 100 original texts.

Together with the treaties, Slovenia took possession of the border documentation, which among things contains land surveying and topographic data and maps relating to the border with Italy (land border), Hungary (Zone A) and Austria, that is, the part of the former SFRY border which today is exclusively Slovenian. 


Did you know that, as part of the succession process, Slovenia has taken possession of over 100 treaties and obtained original border documentation, including land surveying and topographic data? 

Stamp issued by the Swiss Post after the referendum on the independence of the Jura in 1978

Stamp issued by the Swiss Post after the referendum on the independence of the Jura in 1978

Slovenija and the Jura

After the Congress of Vienna in 1815, the area of the Jura, mostly French-speaking and Catholic, became a part of the German-speaking and Protestant Bern. After multiple referendums, the new canton split from the Canton of Bern and this split initiated a difficult succession process. The bases for the issues of succession in Slovenia and the Jura are different, but the Slovenian succession is connected to the dissolution of the former state, while the Jura seceded from the former joint canton.

Did you know that the issue of succession is what the youngest Swiss canton and Slovenia have in common?

Restitution of SFRY state archives


Part of Slovenia’s cultural heritage in the broader sense includes international treaties that are closely tied to Slovenian territory or the status of the nation in terms of international law, for instance treaties determining the state borders, which are today Slovenia’s national borders. In December 2016 Slovenia took over from Serbia 43 international agreements whose depositary was the former SFRY and which relate exclusively to the territory of the Republic of Slovenia. The two countries also agreed that Slovenia should soon take over the next tranche of international agreements.


Were you aware that the 43 international agreements taken over represent the first restitution of SFRY state archives to any successor state?

Triglav patrol boat

In a five-month international operation organised by the EU (EUNAVFOR MED) to target the trafficking of people in the Mediterranean, the Triglav covered 12,000 nautical miles. From October 2015 to March 2016, during 58 days of active operation, the Slovenian Armed Forces crew performed nine rescue operations, saving 1,072 people, 500 of whom were taken aboard the Triglav. 


Did you know, that Slovenia acquired the Triglav patrol boat as part of the settlement of the “Russian” clearing debt?

Houston, we have a problem!

The documentary film Houston, we have a problem! premiered in April 2016 for the global audience at the prestigious Tribeca festival in New York. 


Did you know, that Slovenian film director Žiga Virc and his crew filmed some scenes in the former SFRY Embassys: in Washington, D.C., which today hosts the Slovenian Embassy and the Ambassador’s residence and in Rabat, Morocco, which Slovenia took over from Serbia in 2016?

Lojze Spacal (1907–2000): The Old Lighthouse (Consulate General of the former SFRY in Trieste)

Works of art

Yugoslavia’s diplomatic missions boasted well over 2000 works of art by artists from all six republics and both autonomous provinces. Negotiations on the distribution of these works started in 2002, and the first handovers took place in 2003. 


Did you know Slovenia has to date taken possession of more than 220 works of art by eminent Slovenian artists, which had once decorated the walls of diplomatic missions and consular posts of the former SFRY and represent part of Slovenia’s cultural heritage?

Badinter Arbitration Commission

Decisive role in reaching an agreement was played by the Peace Conference on Yugoslavia convened in 1991 and the related so-called Badinter Arbitration Commission. President of the French Constitutional Court Rober Badinter was appointed to President of the five-member Commission consisting of presidents of Constitutional Courts of Germany (Roman Herzog), Italy (Aldo Corasaniti), Spain (Francisco Tomás y Valiente) and Belgium (Irene Petry).


Did you know, that Badinter Arbitration Commission specifically referred to succession in its opinions 1, 9 and 11 to 15 ? In its Opinion No. 9 the Commission ruled that problems of state succession should be resolved by mutual agreement between successor states, with an equitable division of the international assets and obligations of the former SFRY. It also decided that the membership of the SFRY in international organizations could not be continued by any successor state, but that each state would have to apply for membership anew.


The acquisition of certain archival documents is essential for the unhindered administration of states, and also for protecting vital national interests. The currently improved cooperation between successor states in the field of archives led to the signing in 2014 of a letter of intent on a project to digitalise the common archival heritage with the participation of all successor states. The digitalisation project will be of the utmost significance for future generations for providing them with comprehensive information and enabling their access to the common Yugoslav archival heritage.


Did you know, the Archives of the Republic of Slovenia have taken the lead in the preparation and implementation of a pilot digitalisation phase?

SFRY succession

Five countries (Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia and the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia – today Serbia) signed the Agreement on succession issues by which it was conclusively confirmed that five sovereign equal successor states were formed upon the dissolution of the former SFRY.