Skip to main content »
  • Photo: Nebojša Tejić/STA

    168th Regular Session of the Government of the Republic of the Slovenia

    15.02.2018 -

    At today's session, the Government adopted the draft Social Inclusion of Disabled Persons Act. The act replaces the Social Care of Mentally and Physically Disabled Persons Act from 1983 and rounds out Slovenian legislation in the area of disability care with the objective of allowing disabled persons in the community to live independently (Use of Slovenian Sign Language Act, Equalisation of Opportunities for Persons with Disabilities Act, Personal Assistance Act).

  • Photo: Daniel Novakovič/STA

    PM Cerar attended the celebration marking Slovenian cultural day

    07.02.2018 -

    PM Miro Cerar attended the celebration marking Slovenian cultural day held in Ljubljana's Cankarjev dom Cultural and Congress Centre. Prešeren Awards, the highest recognition for lifetime artistic achievements in Slovenia, were awarded to poet Boris A. Novak and ballet dancer and choreographer Janez Mejač. The Prešeren Fund Awards for individual achievements were conferred to filmmaker Marko Brdar, actor Matej Puc, performer Simona Semenič, ballet dancer Valentina Turcu, photographer Boris Gaberščik and intermedia artist Maja Smrekar.

  • Photo: Nebojša Tejić/STA

    PM Cerar hosts Slovenia–Benelux summit in Slovenia

    06.02.2018 -

    PM Miro Cerar has hosted a summit of Slovenia and the Benelux countries, which took place in the context of regular in-depth cooperation among the four states. While the Prime Ministers usually meet on the margins of European Council sessions in Brussels, this was their first meeting in Slovenia. PM Miro Cerar, Netherlands PM Mark Rutte, Luxembourg PM Xavier Bettel and Belgian Deputy PM and Foreign Minister Didier Reynders devoted most attention in today's talks to the questions of the future of the European Union, the EU future of the Western Balkans and the importance of a circular economy for sustainable development.




Slovenia and Croatia signed on 4 November 2009 an arbitration agreement establishing an arbitral tribunal tasked with issuing a final award on the land and maritime boundary on the basis of all the relevant facts. This ruling will be final and binding on both countries.

SFRY succession

Five countries (Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia and the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia – today Serbia) signed the Agreement on succession issues by which it was conclusively confirmed that five sovereign equal successor states were formed upon the dissolution of the former SFRY.

Government Priorities

The new cabinet under Miro Cerar has given new impetus to Slovenia. Several years of economic crisis have revealed a number of social problems, which the new ministerial team will be forced to take on if it is to restore the country’s international reputation and economic strength.